Burkina Faso

LOCATION: Northwesstern Africa north of Ghana.
In 1919, the French territory of Upper Volta was detached from the southern section of Upper Senegal and Niger and made a separate colony. In 1933 the colony was divided among the neighbors: French Sudan, Ivory Coast and Niger territory.. The Republic of Upper Volta was proclaimed Dec 11, 1958: the name was changed to Burkina Faso on August 4, 1984